Bars Called the “Twenty-First Amendment”: Should I do a tour of them?

As I mentioned yesterday, the Twenty-First Amendment is the amendment that repealed Prohibition.  Not surprisingly, perhaps, there are a number of bars around the country that sport the name “Twenty-First Amendment”.  There’s one on Beacon Hill in Boston where apparently John F. Kennedy used to go sometimes (I’ve been there a couple of times and like it a lot), an apparently big one in San Francisco which also makes and sells its own beer, one in a Holiday Inn in Washington DC, and one in Fayetteville, Arkansas, a really cool looking place that serves a drink called “Prohibition Punch,” described on the menu as a “secret bathtub concoction served in a mason jar.”   And there are probably more that I haven’t come across on the web.  Are there any that I’m missing?

My guess is that the Twenty First Amendment is the only odd clause I discuss in my book that any bar–much less several bars–are named after.  Unless perhaps there’s a bar out there called the Incompatibility Clause, but I very much doubt it.  This raises the question of whether I should hold any book events–readings or whatnot–in these bars.  Maybe I should do a book tour where I stop at each of them, what do you think?  How do I get from DC to Fayetteville?

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Tour/Appearances, the book, Twenty First Amendment

Leave a Reply

